The fourth round of Global Plastics Treaty negotiations (INC-4) is happening in Ottawa from 23-29 April 2024. LEARN MORE

#FalseSolutionsExposed

Learn more about solutions to plastic pollution
and ways to take action

Learn more about solutions to plastic pollution and ways to take action

There are existing solutions to plastic pollution but some “solutions” cause more harm than good to people and the environment.

The planet can only hold
so much plastic.

Over 400 million tonnes of plastics are produced every year, yet only less than 9% has been recycled. Continuing existing practices would mean continuous greenhouse gas emissions  from the extraction of fossil fuels for manufacturing plastics, to use, disposal, recycling and incineration. This ‘take-make-waste’ exercise threatens the ability of the world to keep global temperature rise below 1.5 degree Celsius.

We have to turn off the tap on plastic production and scale solutions
that are proven safe, economical, and sustainable.

No more false solutions.

A five-part learning series tackling solutions to plastic pollution.
JOIN WEBINARS
Social media materials, topic guides, expert reviews, references, and more.
USE TOOLS
New resource for journalists on reporting greenwashing.
SEE THE GUIDE
More movement activities you may participate in.
COMING SOON

Hear from experts and advocates about false solutions and zero waste approaches.

Wednesdays | July 17 to 31, 2024

1:30 pm Delhi
4 pm Manila/Kuala Lumpur
3 pm Jakarta/Hanoi
6 pm Canberra
8 pm Auckland
1:30 pm Delhi
3 pm Jakarta/Hanoi
6 pm Canberra
1:30 pm Delhi
3 pm Jakarta/Hanoi
6 pm Canberra
8 pm Auckland
4 pm Manila/Kuala Lumpur
8 pm Auckland

See recorded #FalseSolutionsExposed webinar series from 2023

WATCH HERE

COMING SOON

Launching on June 21st | 4:00 p.m. GMT+8

The media plays a crucial role in society, especially in battling the spread of misinformation and false claims. This guide shows how you can identify misinformation about plastic pollution, and shares solutions-oriented tips to make your reporting and storytelling on plastic pollution both truthful and impactful.

REGISTER

Spread the word

Join us in sharing information about real and false solutions to plastic pollution and call on governments and corporations to urgently reject false solutions.

CAMPAIGN TOOLKIT

New Resource for Journalists

The media plays a crucial role in society, especially in battling the spread of misinformation and false claims. This guide shows how you can identify misinformation about plastic pollution, and shares solutions-oriented tips to make your reporting and storytelling on plastic pollution both truthful and impactful.

What’s inside: 

  • What is greenwashing? 
  • How to tell if it’s greenwashing? 
  • Greenwashing: Case studies and examples
  • When working on a story 
  • More solutions-oriented plastic pollution journalism tips 
  • Examples of solutions-oriented plastic pollution journalism 
  • Resources 
DOWNLOAD THE PDF
Got a media inquiry?

Contact us at news@breakfreefromplastic.org 

Press Contacts: 

Asia Pacific: Eah Antonio - eah@breakfreefromplastic.org 

Asia Pacific: Devayani Khare - devayani@breakfreefromplastic.org

Europe: Bethany Spendlove Keeley - bethany@breakfreefromplastic.org

US & Canada: Brett Nadrich - brett@breakfreefromplastic.org

© 2024 Break Free From Plastic. All right reserved.